Advocacy for Cute Rabbits (aka all of them)

What a lot of people don’t know about me is that I volunteer at a local rabbit shelter, and I love (love love) rabbits and other animals. I am not usually an advocacy person, nor do I like making speeches and getting into heated debates. However, I feel the need to address the mistreatment of rabbits, especially pet rabbits.

Please be well informed and educated before getting a pet rabbit, or any other pet.

At the shelter, we witness only a fraction of animal abuse and neglect that occurs locally. Mistreatment may range from ignorance, carelessness, neglect, to malice. Sometimes harm may be done to pet rabbits unintentionally, such as insufficient income to support a healthy rabbit diet. In those cases, the best solution is to amend the problems if possible, to surrender the rabbits to a shelter, or to euthanize the rabbits in very serious cases.

Please, please, please educate yourself before getting yourself a pet rabbit or any other pet. Keep in mind the span of your commitment and the animal’s life span, the proper diet, the amount of compassion and care you are willing to offer, and the expenses.

Some people don’t value animal well being and welfare as much as me; my advocacy may seem pointless to those but I think a real compassionate and kind person treats all lives fairly.  Compassion may come in many forms: surrendering pets, adopting animals, or even not adopting. If you can’t provide the sufficient care for a pet, the best thing is not to get one. Try volunteering at an animal shelter instead (like me haha).

Be kind. Be educated. And if you are a pet owner, you also need to be responsible for taking whatever action that best suits your animal.

Thank you for reading! I am thinking about starting a weekly series about the rabbits at the shelter? But I don’t want to make a commitment yet because I just got a job. What a hectic schedule I have subjected myself to. Haha, but being busy is good for me. Anyways…

Ttyl, internet friends. (If you actually cared to read this lengthy post I can call you a friend right?)

Photo: collage of National Geographic magazines, Inkscape edited. 2017. By me!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Advocacy for Cute Rabbits (aka all of them)

Leave a Reply

