Yellowknife (Night) Adventures

You know it: northern lights. The highlight of Yellowknife is the lights. In a warmly lit cabin, I sipped on my steaming, 2-to-1-part mocha. I would suit up in my burrito-wrap-like coat and head outside to check up on the transient auroras. After I close the cabin doors behind me, I was instantly engulfed by the mystical and mesmerizing night. Diamond stars and swift northern lights blazed the dark indigo sky. I easily spent hours outside, negative 30 degrees, as I hurriedly scrambled to adjust my camera in this angle and that angle.

yk-nite-2-of-6

I got to give myself a pat on the back for not getting frostbite, especially for a person like me with extremely dry hands.

final-yk-2-of-2

Every photo is unique. The auroras shift so fast you can’t get two photos that are alike.

yk-nite-4-of-6

Can we please take a moment to appreciate the Orion constellation (above) ? You probably think that I have some very sentimental memory of Orion but nope! I just talk about it a lot because that’s the only constellation I remember from Science 9. Also, because Orion’s belt is very visible, I like to point it out to everybody. Hahaha.

fav

The lights are probably not what you would expect. The truth is that these auroras are actually significantly weaker in real life than photographs. Most cameras are more sensitive to light than human eyes; thus, the lense will do a better job of picking up the subtle northern wonders.

I have to mention this: taking photos of northern lights is very difficult! My AP calculus derivative test was easier than this!

Look out for my next post where I will offer some insightful and slightly experienced tips and tricks for photographing and editing northern lights. Hope you enjoy these photos as much as I enjoyed sharing these beauties.

Talk to you later. Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

