The Mesmerizing MET

Situated in the heart of Manhattan, in Central Park, is the Metropolitan Museum of Art. It is a place for all ages and all interests. My experience there mainly consisted of excitement, fascination, and fangirling reactions (all from me). Prior to my visit, I made a long list of things I wanted to see like Ugolino and His Sons, Madame X, and Monet’s Water Lilies, but when I got there, reality dawned upon me, there was just too much too see. I had to be selective about what I wanted to see.

MET2

I spent most of my visit in the Greek and Roman Art section because it was a fascinating collection of art, mythology, and history.

Ugolino and His Sons is a beautiful sculpture, by Jean-Baptiste Carpeaux, that holds an captivating and eerie story. Ugolino and his sons were imprisoned and starving. His sons eventually died around 1288, and rumour had it that Ugolino was so crazy with hunger that he ate the corpses of his dead children. So was Carpeaux choosing to depict hunger or grief in Ugolino’s eternal gnawing of his fingers?

Ugolino

The museum was absolutely beautiful!

MET

I hope these photos can inspire artists out there. I know that when I saw rooms of marble sculptures, I was compelled to sit down, observe, and to draw in my sketchbook. Something about the white marbled faces is mesmerizing.

A lovely installation piece below.

Cool

My number 1 to see was Madame X by John Singer Sargent (left painting below) mainly because I was practicing oil painting and my art teacher suggested Singer-Sargent as an inspiration. His paintings are captivating because they showed phenomenal skill but the lightly washed background makes them look effortless. All of his paintings were huge; Madame X was bigger than Madame X herself. This painting was initially criticized and considered rather scandalous! I think some people today would even consider Madame X’s attire to be modest. Anyways, I loved Sargent’s paintings, no matter how modest or scandalous they are.

The MET can easily be one of the best museums in America; it is a marriage of art, cultures, history, and wisdom, from the Egyptians to the Chinese. As a student, I was inspired greatly. Thanks New York!

Oh, and don’t forget to take a lunch break and eat on the steps outside the MET. And look out for a shady food truck  that has MUSTURD on their menu instead of MUSTARD; don’t want turd on your hot dog, am I right? 😛

Thanks for reading! Bye for now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

