Neon Nightlife, NYC

I arrived in New York in the evening, almost time for dinner. Tired from sitting in my cramped airplane seat for five hours but feeling adventurous, I arrived in Times Square to see the neon lights. Hundreds, maybe thousands of people loitering around the square-shopping? Exercising? Eating? Drinking? Secretly wondering how much electricity is being used per second? (That’s me!) Even on a normal Tuesday night, Times Square is occupied with tons of people simply because the city transforms into a different world at night.

IMG_575811.31.39PM11.32.04PM

The radiant, big screens allow for beautiful portraits lit blue, red, and pink. My friend took a great portrait of me; to my dismay, a lovely fellow decided to photobomb. KABOOM! Thanks pal.

One thing I loved about New York City was how grand the buildings appear to be, both in size and beauty. The neon lit Empire State Building (photo above)  that peeked out between buildings as I walked through the streets gave me motivation to strive for greatness.

Did you know that the Empire State Building changes colour every night to honour or celebrate? In my photo, the Empire State Building was lit in a magenta pink to celebrate International Women’s Day (March 8). 🙂

I especially love the building on Broadway and West 42nd street (photo on bottom left). I rarely see buildings as elaborate and detailed as this one in Vancouver. Even though most buildings in NYC are simply a rectangle, there are various decorative elements that make the buildings more interesting. Just look at the details embedded into the window, the frame, the arches.

After walking around Times Square, my friends and I grabbed a quick dinner. My first meal in New York was burger and fries from Five Guys near Madison Square Garden. Food was mediocre; my burger was dry and fries were near burnt. Given a choice, I would not return to any Five Guys restaurants in the future. Let me tell you beforehand that my trip to NYC entails lots of mediocre food and a few blissful bites of deliciousness; when you walk and go to as many places as we do in a day, quality of food is not a big issue but rather speed and convenience. Don’t worry though, I have some photos of great food in New York.

One of the best moments of that night was returning to my hotel room…to take off my boots. My boots were one inch heeled but boy did they hurt my feet. Take my advice and just wear your Vans or Nikes because your feet will thank you after a day in New York. 🙂

That concludes my first night in New York. Thanks for reading!

Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

